Shaunae Miller’s dive across the 400m finish line legal

Bahamas Shaunae Miller did nothing wrong.

Whether you argue that Miller dived or fell across the finish line to take the gold medal in the 400m last night at the Olympic Stadium in Rio, the truth is her move was legal.

According to the International Association of Athletic Federations rulebook,

“The athletes shall be placed in the order in which any part of their bodies (i.e. torso, as distinguished from the head, neck, arms, legs, hands or feet) reached the vertical plane of the nearer edge of the finish line” (Rule 164, IAAF Rules 2006-2007).

And Miller’s torso crossed the line first to see her sweep the gold from just under USA’s Allyson Felix’s nose.

Miller beat Felix by 0.07 seconds with her perfectly legal dive.

Source: Loop Jamaica

Share This

About the author